Qualifying concludes on Saturday in Germany

Saturday saw the remaining two Qualifying rounds being held, before the finals got underway mid-afternoon.  After Friday’s opening rounds, some classes were close to being decided, and some were wide open.

1/8 Scale

Gruber rebounds on Saturday to take TQ

Toni Gruber took the overall TQ in the 1/8 Scale class after setting the best time in both of Saturday’s Qualifiers.  With Friday not going the way of the driver, who has made the switch to the Capricorn team for 2023, he needed two good results and duly delivered.  Q3 saw Gruber ahead of Simon Kurzbuch by half a second, with Dominic Greiner and Merlin Depta in touch in third and fourth respectively.  Setting up yet another ENS final qualifier showdown, Greiner was looking to top the times (and thus take the overall TQ) before what he described as a “miscommunication” with his teammate Depta allowed Gruber to take the round and start up front for the 45-minute final.  Greiner still held onto second in the round, with Jilles Groskamp putting in his best showing so far to take third in round, just ahead of his Infinity teammate Rick Vrielijnck.

Overall Qualifying Result Top Five

1 Toni Gruber (DE) – Capricorn/Ielasi Tuned

2 Simon Kurzbuch (CH) – Mugen Seiki/Hasi Tuned

3 Dominic Greiner (DE) – Capricorn/Max Power

4 Merlin Depta (DE) – Capricorn/OS Speed

5 Lars Hoppe (DE) – Shepherd/Reds Racing

Link to the results on MyRCM: https://www.myrcm.ch/myrcm/report/en/70178/308679

1/10 Scale

Diekmann secures TQ as Holthuis fights back

Melvin Diekmann was denied an early TQ today, as Milan Holthuis showed impressive speed in this morning’s Q3 to set the best time so far.  However, Holthuis was denied the chance to fight for the overall TQ as he was hit by a back-marker in the early laps of Q4.  This allowed Diekmann to cruise to the TQ, with another strong run from yesterday’s stand-out driver, Leon Fuhrmann, taking second in the round and thus third overall.

Behind, Quentin Leroux had a decent run on Q3 to lock himself into a top-four starting position, whilst Juan Hidalgo made up for yesterday’s struggles and secured a start int eh top half of the A Final.  Patrick Fanhauser continued his form from yesterday to line up sixth overall, with Tim Benson in seventh and Raul Amella pushed to eighth as he failed to improve on yesterday.

Overall Qualifying Result Top 5

1 Melvin Diekmann (DE) – Capricorn

2 Milan Holthuis (NL) – Infinity

3 Leon Fuhrmann (DE) – Capricorn

4 Quentin Leroux (FR) – Capricorn

5 Juan Hidalgo (ES) – Serpent

Link to the results on MyRCM: https://www.myrcm.ch/myrcm/report/en/70178/308677

1/8 +40 Masters

Haugen to lead Masters A Final

Lars Haugen has taken TQ for the +40 Masters class, after his TQ in Q3 today was added to his similar result from yesterday’s opening round.  The driver from Norway will lead off Belgian Peter Thys, who took second in Q3 to keep himself at the sharp end of the field.  Serpent designer Michael Salven got himself back in the mix after two rounds yesterday to forget, with a fifth in Q3 and then a TQ in the last round, to line up third overall.

Torsten Mueller left it to the last round to score his best result, a second place, and keeps himself close to the front for the 30-minute Final tomorrow..  Daniel Toenessen rounds out the top five, pushing John Lenears to sixth.

Overall Qualifying Result Top 5

1 Lars Haugen (NO) – Mugen

2 Peter Thys (BE) – Mugen

3 Michael Salven (NL) – Serpent

4 Torsten Mueller (DE) – Capricorn

5 Daniel Toennessen – Mugen

Link to the results on MyRCM: https://www.myrcm.ch/myrcm/report/en/70178/308678

1/8 Sport

Wenger wraps up Sport Class TQ

Swiss driver Martin Wenger secured the overall TQ for the Sport class, after his TQ time in Q3 continued his run from yesterday.  Jan-Simon Knispel will start second after the German driver topped the last round, with Joachim Grauer continuing a pretty consistent run seen yesterday to take third overall.  Gert-Jan Van Schaik and Luigi Pili round out the top five of the starting grid.

Overall Qualifying Result Top 5

1 Martin Wenger (CH) – Mugen

2 Jan-Simon Knispel (DE) – Shepherd

3 Joachim Grauer (DE) – Shepherd

4 Gert-Jan Van Schaik (NL) – ?

5 Luigi Pili (CH) – ARC

Link to the results on MyRCM: https://www.myrcm.ch/myrcm/report/en/70178/308676

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *