Following the enforced break due to the Coronavirus situation around Europe, the second round of the 2020 Euro Offroad Series took place last week at the new outdoor offroad track at Arena 33 in Andernach, Germany. Unfortunately, some travel restrictions meant that both EOS Announcer Scotty Ernst, and EOS’s normal media partner RacewayOne, couldn’t be at the race. However, there was still a great turn out and the organisers particularly want to thank all the racers for sticking to the new rules that were in place to ensure the race could take place.

In 2WD, Xray’s Bruno Coelho took the first two rounds of qualifying, with fellow Xray pilot Max Gotzl taking the third round and Schumacher’s Jorn Neumann taking Q4. There were some standout performances from some of the younger racers, with Marcel Schneider scoring a second place in Q1 and lining up fourth overall and Aaron Munster securing his first EOS A Main with ninth in qualifying.

The A Finals were a battle between Coelho and Neumann, as the top two qualifiers lapped up to half a second per lap quicker than the rest of the closely matched field. In A1, Bruno make full use of his pole position to lead every lap of the race, with Jorn keeping him honest but ultimately having to settle for second place. In A2, Coelho immediately had to drive at 100% to keep the German behind him. This led to an early mistake from the two-time 4WD World Champion, leaving Neumann out front and Gotzl up to second. There was no change up front, as Neumann build a lead of around three seconds and took a controlled win. Coelho fought back through the pack, but was only able to reach fifth place by the buzzer. The showdown in A3 never materialised, as a mistake from Coelho on lap 1 again dropped him down the order, leaving Neumann to once again control the race and build a comfortable lead. Gotzl again made the most of the error from his teammate to take over second place, which he would hold until the finish and thus secure the overall runner up spot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *